mike's picture

mike

Technology enthusiast and avid book reader.

Great Books!

17 Followers, 85 Pins

Books I think are great.

The Instant New York Times best seller!Riveting. ... [Marsh] gives us an extraordinarily intimate, compassionate and sometimes frightening understanding of his vocation.

Author: 
Henry Marsh
390 views 0 likes 0 comments

Night -- A terrifying account  of the Nazi death camp horror that turns a young  Jewish boy into an agonized witness to the death of  his family...the death of his innocence...and the  death of his

Author: 
Elie Wiesel
989 views 0 likes 0 comments

Lois Lowry’s The Giver is the quintessential dystopian novel, followed by its remarkable companions, Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son.Jonas's world is perfect. Everything is under control.

Author: 
Lois Lowry
979 views 0 likes 0 comments

Harper Collins The Giving Tree Hardcover Book tells the classic tale about a relationship between a young boy and a tree in the forest, how the tree loves the boy and helps the boy with his needs t

515 views 0 likes 0 comments

A young woman holds her newborn sonAnd looks at him lovingly.

Author: 
Robert Munsch
362 views 0 likes 0 comments

This is the true story of the travels and dealings of a Spaniard in the New World. Landing in Mexico as a boy in 1816, Clemente struggles to find his way.

Author: 
Steven Nelson,Don Clemente de la Cuadra
427 views 0 likes 0 comments

During Prohibition (1920- 1933) it was illegal in the United States to sell, manufacture, or transport liquor. It was not illegal to buy or drink it-and America was thirsty!

Author: 
Alastair Moray
555 views 0 likes 0 comments

In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J.

Author: 
Samuel Thomas
896 views 0 likes 0 comments

Before The Hunger Games there was Lord of the Flies Lord of the Flies remains as provocative today as when it was first published in 1954, igniting passionate debate with its startling, bru

Author: 
William Golding
367 views 0 likes 0 comments

The #1 New York Times BestsellerOn a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary.

Author: 
Gillian Flynn
328 views 0 likes 0 comments

"Nothing has driven home a certain truth about my generation, which is approaching the apex of its childbearing years, quite like this."--The New Yorker"A parenting zeitgeist"--Washington Post"A hi

Author: 
Adam Mansbach
570 views 0 likes 1 repin 0 comments

This is a pre-1923 historical reproduction that was curated for quality.

Author: 
Girolamo Volpe
543 views 0 likes 0 comments

Living with mid-century modern design.From the 'soft modernism' of Scandinavian furniture, to the sleek clean lines of the lighting created by the Castiglione brothers in Italy, all the iconic de

Author: 
Judith Miller
605 views 0 likes 0 comments

Richard Phillips’s new work hinges on the self-awareness of real-life subjects, using collaborative forms of image production to reorder the relationship of pop art to its subjects.

Author: 
Richard Phillips
1098 views 0 likes 0 comments

Matthew Inman dishes another helping of hilarity from his online comic The Oatmeal in My Dog: The Paradox. After years of carefully observing his own dog, Rambo, Inman follows his #1 New York Times

Author: 
The Oatmeal,Matthew Inman
957 views 0 likes 1 repin 0 comments

Emma: The Illustrated Edition (Jane Austen's Novels)

Author: 
Jane Austen
386 views 0 likes 0 comments

The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success

Author: 
Harper Lee
409 views 0 likes 0 comments

The Age Of Turbulence is Alan Greenspan’s incomparable reckoning with the contemporary financial world, channeled through his own experiences working in the command room of the global economy longe

Author: 
Alan Greenspan
1155 views 0 likes 0 comments

Winner of the 2013 Man Booker Prize and Canada's Governor General's Literary Award, a breathtaking feat of storytelling where everything is connected, but nothing is as it

Author: 
Eleanor Catton
478 views 0 likes 0 comments

Simon Winchester, the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of Atlantic and The Professor and the Madman, delivers his first book about America: a fascinating popul

Author: 
Simon Winchester
516 views 0 likes 0 comments

A thrilling and revelatory narrative of one of the most epic and consequential periods in 20th century history – the Arab Revolt and the secret “great game” to control the Middle East       The Ara

Author: 
Scott Anderson
502 views 0 likes 0 comments

Nelson Mandela is widely considered to be one of the most inspiring and iconic figures of our age.

Author: 
Nelson Mandela
435 views 0 likes 0 comments

Billy, Old Dan and Little Ann -- a Boy and His Two Dogs...A loving threesome, they ranged the dark hills and river bottoms of Cherokee country.

Author: 
Wilson Rawls
405 views 1 likes 0 comments

Who is Pusheen?

Author: 
Claire Belton
1127 views 0 likes 2 repins 0 comments

One beautiful bastard of a groom. The most beautiful bitch of a bride. A panty-ripping office hook-up turned true love everlasting.

Author: 
Christina Lauren
415 views 0 likes 0 comments

In Porsche 911: 50 Years, bestselling author Randy Leffingwell celebrates a half-century of one of the world’s premiere sports cars, focusing on the major themes that have defined Porsche's rear-en

Author: 
Randy Leffingwell
559 views 0 likes 0 comments

In October 1843, Charles Dickens ― heavily in debt and obligated to his publisher ― began work on a book to help supplement his family's meager income.

Author: 
Charles Dickens
1101 views 0 likes 0 comments

“As a Long Islander endlessly fascinated by events that happened in a place I call home, I hope with this book to give the secret six the credit they didn’t get in life.

Author: 
Brian Kilmeade,Don Yaeger
446 views 0 likes 0 comments

Winner of the 2013 National Book Award for Fiction A Washington Post, Publishers Weekly, Oprah Magazine Top 10 Book of the Year “A magnificent new novel by the best-selling author James McB

Author: 
James McBride
308 views 0 likes 0 comments

“It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains.”   So begins Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, an expanded edition of the beloved Jane A

Author: 
Jane Austen,Seth Grahame-Smith
1268 views 0 likes 0 comments

Pages

Scroll to top